Hi Guys,

As you know I am not a complete noob when it comes to FSX but there is one thing that I cannot figure out - I have backed up the 'Controls' folder found in the following location...

C:\Users\Me\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX

But when I restore it does not restore my joystick setup only the buttons?

Am I missing something?

Cheers,

Jim

Hi Jim,

The control folder should contain a file Standard.xml

In this file you should have a section with the settings for you joystick axis.

i.e.

<SimControls.Map>

<Name>CH PRO THROTTLE USB {0FAEE0B0-93A9-11E0-8001-444553540000}</Name>

<Axis>

<AxName>XAxis</AxName>

<Index>0</Index>

<AxEvent>AXIS_RUDDER_SET</AxEvent>

<AxScale>127</AxScale>

<AxNull>10</AxNull>

</Axis>

For the rudder axis in my file.

If these entries are present the restoring the file should set you axis.

Now if you use FSUIPC to assign axis this obviously will not work!

Hope this helps

As I understand it the registered (paid) version of FSUIPC for FSX will remember the control setup for each individual airplane and automatically load the correct one when you select an aircraft.

John

I've been blissfully unaware of this feature in the paid version of FSUIPC. I have the free version installed.

Thank you, again, John, for another piece of FS wisdom.

I'd pretty much given up trying to find this solution. I never did find a way to have FSX do this for me. My FSX sub-directory contains several files where I tried different assignments, then saved them to unique file names. Files such as noflaps.xxx and hiperf.xxx. Loading them did absolutely nothing. FSX stubbornly retains the last set of assignments.

I fly aircraft from the 737NG to Piper Cubs and all require a preferred set-up on the joystick.

Justification to purchase the paid version.

Cheers,

March

Oops!

Not so fast there, March.

I found this page: http://www.schiratti.com/dowson.html